Marc McNulty and Liam Palmer win Scotland call-ups

Marc McNulty in action for Hibernian

Hibernian forward Marc McNulty and Sheffield Wednesday defender Liam Palmer have been named in Alex McLeish's Scotland squad.

The uncapped pair are in the 27-man squad for the Euro 2020 qualifiers with Kazakhstan and San Marino.

Celtic's on-loan winger Oliver Burke could win his first cap in two years.

First-choice goalkeeper Allan McGregor announced his international retirement on Monday, leaving three keepers with one cap apiece in the squad.

Millwall's Jordan Archer, Celtic's Scott Bain and Jon McLaughlin of Sunderland are all in contention for a starting place, with 54-time cap Craig Gordon also missing, having not played for Celtic since the 1-0 loss to Rangers on 29 December.

There are notable exclusions for Rangers midfielder Ryan Jack, Celtic defender Jack Hendry, and Fulham midfielders Tom Cairney and Kevin McDonald.

McNulty, on loan at Hibs from Reading, has scored six goals in his eight appearances so far, while Palmer, 27, who can play at right-back or in midfield, has been a Wednesday regular in the Championship this term. He has played eight times for Scotland U21s.

Burke, 21, has scored four goals since moving to Glasgow on loan from West Brom in January. He won the last of his five caps in a friendly against Canada in 2017.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Archer (Millwall), Scott Bain (Celtic), Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

Defenders: David Bates (Hamburg), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen O'Donnell (Kilmarnock), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), John Souttar (Hearts), Kieran Tierney (Celtic).

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), John Fleck (Sheffield United), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Callum Paterson (Cardiff City), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Oliver Burke (Celtic), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth)

Forwards: Oli McBurnie (Swansea), Marc McNulty (Hibernian), Lewis Morgan (Sunderland), Johnny Russell (Kansas City).

Let's block ads! (Why?)

About the Author

Comments are closed.