rss
0

World Rugby admits Gareth Anscombe’s try for Wales should have stood

• TMO was incorrect to disallow score during defeat at Twickenham
• WR’s head of referees acknowledges error to coach Warren Gatland

World Rugby have confirmed to Wales that the television match official Glenn Newman was incorrect in law when he disallowed Gareth Anscombe’s first-half try at Twickenham last weekend.

Wales lost to England 12-6 and afterwards their head coach Warren Gatland described Newman’s call as a terrible mistake. The official ruled that the Wales full-back Anscombe had not properly grounded the ball before the England Anthony Watson got both hands to it.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.