Will VAR improve the World Cup?

VAR has been used in various league and cup competitions around the world. Is it a step forward for the World Cup?

Who are you supporting – and how will your team fare?

Every World Cup breaks new ground. The first tournament was held in 1930; qualification was introduced for 1934; the first Asian team (the Dutch East Indies or, as they are called now, Indonesia) featured in 1938; British teams took part in 1950; the 1954 World Cup was the first on TV; all four Home Nations competed for the first (and, so far, only) time in 1958.

Marcos Coll scored the World Cup’s first Olympic goal in 1962; World Cup Willie, the first mascot, turned up in 1966; yellow cards made an appearance in 1970; the new trophy was presented in 1974; Tunisia became the first African team to win a match at the finals in 1978; Hungary broke the double-figure barrier in their 10-1 win over El Salvador in 1982; Mexico became the first two-time hosts in 1986; the Republic of Ireland made their debut in 1990 and went to the quarter-finals without winning a match; the final was decided on penalties for the first time in 1994; Laurent Blanc scored the first golden goal in 1998; two countries hosted in 2002; the 2006 tournament was the first without a hat-trick; South Africa became the first hosts to go out at the first round in 2010; goal-line technology and free-kick foam were introduced in 2014. And now, in 2018, we have VAR.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.