Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe named Fifa footballers of the year

• Jürgen Klopp won The Best men’s coach award
• Jill Ellis takes the women’s coach of the year award

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and the USA World Cup winner Megan Rapinoe have been crowned players of the year at Fifa’s The Best awards, held at the stunning Teatro alla Scala.

With 21 of the 55 nominees playing in England, it was natural that the Premier League would dominate the men’s awards, but there was surprise as Messi beat Virgil van Dijk, who lifted the Uefa player of the year trophy, to the main prize.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.