Ireland confirm World Cup squad

January 05, 2015 14:39:55 UK

Five Ireland players will be performing at their third World Cup finals next month after the selectors endorsed the 15-man squad dispatched for a January training camp.

Captain William Porterfield, Niall O’Brien, Kevin O’Brien, Ed Joyce and John Mooney all featured in 2007 and 2011 – although Joyce’s first was with England.

Competition for places has been fierce and that’s got to be good for Irish cricket.

William Porterfield

They are complemented by first-timers Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, and Craig Young.

“It’s fantastic to be leading Ireland in another global tournament,” said skipper Porterfield.

“We’ve produced some wonderful performances over the years in World Cups, and there’s no reason why we can’t claim further successes in Australia and New Zealand.

“While we may have lost the surprise factor over the years, we’ve certainly gained a lot of respect for our brand of cricket which has been pretty pleasing.

“There’s a great mix as always in the squad and the younger guys coming through are all hungry, which keeps the more experienced players on their toes. Competition for places has been fierce and that’s got to be good for Irish cricket.”

Ireland take on Scotland and the UAE in a triangular warm-up event in Dubai later this month, when all three associate nations will be fine-tuning for the step-up in class from February 14th onwards.

Ireland’s official World Cup warm-up matches will be against the Scots and Bangladesh in Sydney – their pre-tournament base – while their first group match comes in Nelson, New Zealand, on February 16th when West Indies provide the opposition.

The Irish side can be backed at 501.00 to win the World Cup, with Bangladesh 101.00 and Zimbabwe 501.00.

Squad: William Porterfield (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Peter Chase (Malahide), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union), Niall O’Brien (Leicestershire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

Don’t forget, all of the fantastic markets we have to offer, including In-Play betting, can be accessed on mobile or tablet with bet365 On The Move.

View all Cricket betting

About the Author

Comments are closed.