Four go into Hall of Fame – and that’s probably not enough

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio all made it this year. But Mike Piazza would be right to feel disgruntled

For the second year in a row, the Baseball Writers Association of America has managed to keep its head above water.

The BBWAA and the Hall of Fame revealed today that four players will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame this July as part of the museum’s annual ceremony: Randy Johnson (receiving votes on 97.3% of all ballots), Pedro Martinez (91.1%), John Smoltz (82.9%) and Craig Biggio (82.7%). That’s the largest incoming class in almost 60 years … and it probably still isn’t big enough.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.