FFA narrows A-League expansion bid field to six applicants

  • Wollongong Wolves and Ipswich Pride bids cast aside
  • Two successful applicants to be announced in November

Wollongong Wolves and Ipswich Pride FC have failed in their bids to win an A-League licence after Football Federation Australia narrowed the field to six clubs at Tuesday’s board meeting.

FFA will now undertake further due diligence and negotiations with the remaining bids, with two of the six – comprising Southern Expansion and Macarthur South West Sydney in New South Wales, Victoria’s Western Melbourne, Team 11 and South Melbourne, and Canberra in the ACT – to be chosen to swell the A-League’s current 10-team format to 12 for the 2019-20 season.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.