Edinburgh quartet makes Scotland squad

January 20, 2015 14:10:06 UK

Four uncapped Edinburgh stars have been called up by head coach Vern Cotter for Scotland’s preliminary 32-man squad for the Six Nations.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Ben Toolis, Hugh Blake and Hamish Watson have all made the cut ahead of the major competition next month, as Scotland look to build on the back of some encouraging performances over the autumn.

Some experienced names have missed out on the squad with scrum-half Chris Cusiter and former skipper Kelly Brown at present not set to be involved.

Cotter is pleased with the balance of the squad and believes Scotland, who have not won the title since lifting the last Five Nations trophy in 1999, are in a position to do something in the tournament this year.

He told the SRU website: “We are approaching this RBS 6 Nations looking to perform and develop.

“It will be a great process for us and I know the players are looking forward to it.

“Obviously we’ll be facing some very good sides, four of which are above us in the world rankings, however we have nothing to hide going into this year.

“We start with a very difficult game against France in Paris and we will prepare as best as possible for that game and adapt as the competition evolves.”

Scotland are 34.00 to win the Six Nations this season, while France are 7.00 to be crowned champions.

FORWARDS: Hugh Blake (Edinburgh Rugby), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Cowan, Geoff Cross (both London Irish), David Denton, Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Castres), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Jim Hamilton (Saracens), Rob Harley, Euan Murray, Gordon Reid (all Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Ben Toolis, Hamish Watson (both Edinburgh Rugby), Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors).

BACKS: Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Dunbar, (Glasgow Warriors) Dougie Fife (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne (both Glasgow Warriors) Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester), Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell (all Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Tonks, Tim Visser (both Edinburgh Rugby).

About the Author

Comments are closed.