Dylan Alcott wins at Wimbledon to secure fourth straight grand slam

• Australian beats Britain’s Andy Lapthorne 6-0, 6-2 in final
• Alcott is Wimbledon’s first quad wheelchair singles champion

When Rod Laver won Wimbledon for the fourth and last time in 1969 it was the 11th time in 14 years that an Australian man had won the title. Though John Newcombe won in each of the two following years, only two other Australian men – Pat Cash in 1987 and Lleyton Hewitt in 2002 – have won since. Evonne Goolagong, Sam Stosur and, most recently, Ash Barty at last month’s French Open have won grand slam titles on the women’s side and the country has produced numerous doubles champions.

But in wheelchair tennis they have a superstar. Dylan Alcott is so famous in Australia that he recently won a Logie, an award for the most popular new talent on television, recognition of his work as a TV host. On the court he is now a nine-times grand slam singles winner and on Saturday he completed the “Dylan slam”, his 6-0, 6-2 win over Britain’s Andy Lapthorne giving him his fourth straight grand slam title.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.