Carabao Cup quarter-final draw – live!

“Are the organisers having a dig at poor old Arsène?” asks Charles Antaki. “The list of clubs is obviously alphabetical, except that Arsenal have been demoted to second place. They might as well have got a light aircraft to fly the thing on a banner over the television studio.”

The real, less amusing reason is that Bournemouth are down as ‘AFC Bournemouth’ in the official draw. Why? I don’t know.

Defending champions Manchester United, 2015 winners Chelsea, and Manchester City, who lifted the trophy in 2014 and 2016, are all still in the Carabao Cup running. Arsenal are in the hat but haven’t won it since 1993, when the UK’s leading energy drink was Panda Pops.

Leicester City have won the League Cup more times than the Gunners, and now have former finalist Claude Puel at the helm. West Ham, Bournemouth and Bristol City have never won it – in fact, this is only the Cherries’ second appearance at this stage, and City’s first since 1989.

Continue reading...

About the Author

Comments are closed.